The Crying Ghost

We did our best to go about life as if everything was normal. Things were far from normal in my household. To summarize we are experiencing the following.

  • Distinct temperature changes
  • phantom growls and voices
  • toys turning on with and without batteries present
  • toys moving on their own
  • bangs and scratching noises
  • shadows moving in unnatural ways
  • mists in the home
  • The walls have cried
  • phantom sounds of a child running thru the kitchen to the bathroom.
  • Severe nightmares, night terrors and sleep paralysis
  • lights turning on and off on their own
  • tv coming on and going off on it’s own
  • distinct increase in static charge in the air
  • i am blowing light bulbs up by touch

I look at this list and wonder why I didn’t leave then. I could have possibly saved my family so much heartache. One of us might not be gone from this world today if I had of chosen differently. I have a great deal of regret about this house. I thought staying was the right thing to do for my family. I have never been more wrong in my life.

We had been in the home for about a year, when my mother and father went thru a divorce. My mother came to stay with me when she left dad. I was very happy to have her. My mother was my best friend. Some people would have hated their parent moving in. I loved the it. She got along well with my husband. Everything should have been perfect.

I did not talk about what was going on in my house. I was in denial most of the time, but also we just didn’t talk about such things. I realize now that is absolutely ridiculous. The point being when my mother moved in, she had no knowledge of what had been transpiring in my household.

The first night she was there, my husband was gone on a gig playing for one of the bands he toured with at the time. The baby had been moved out of the nursery, so we had the space, and went ahead and put mom in the nursery. The cemetery for the toys that played by themselves moved to my bedroom closet.

I woke up that first night about 3am, to my mother crawling in bed with me. “What’s wrong mom?” I i inquired bleary eyed.

Mom leaned toward me and said “I woke up because the kids are crying.” She nervously glanced back over her shoulder with wide eyes.

The fog of sleep still had hold of my brain, I was perplexed and struggling to understand what she was trying to tell me. “What? What do you mean? Do i need to get up? Whats wrong?”

“There…… are ……… children ………..crying in my room.” mom whispered urgently.

I laid there as mom’s breathing became more labored. Her words were slowly sinking in thru the fog of sleep. I sat up and and looked over at her confused rubbing my eyes. “What mom? I thought you said the kids were crying, and now…..uhh….what are you saying exactly?”

My mother is frantic now. “She sat up in the bed continuing to peer back over her shoulder toward the hallway. “THERE …….. ARE …….. CHILDREN……….CRYING…..IN MY ROOM!” She whispered loudly.

“What do you mean? What’s……wro..?” I trailed off looking toward the hallway as it struck me what she was trying to tell me. She didn’t say my kids were crying in her room, and if they had been, she would not be in here shivering in the dark like a frightened child. She was absolutely terrified. “It isn’t my children crying in your room.” I said swallowing hard. “are they?”

“No, it’s not our babies. They are in their beds. I don’t see them in there, but I can hear them running around. I think you have ghosts honey.” She whispered wide eyed continuing to check over her shoulder nervously.

I pushed the covers off of my legs. “Mom, I am sure there is a rational explanation” I chided her swiveling my legs over the side of the bed. “I will come back in a minute. Try and calm down. I will go check.”

She nodded staring into the dark hallway. I walked around the bed and out into the dark hallway and paused to listen. I heard nothing. I sighed deeply and rolled my eyes taking 3 more strides into the nursery and mom’s room. I stood just inside the door looking around at each wall in search of a reason she thought she heard children crying. I saw nothing, and it was quiet.

I pivoted on my heel to leave the room when I see something move out of the corner of my eye by the closet. Keep in mind I am standing here in the dark like an idiot. I quickly fumble for the light switch, and flip it in the on position. The room remained dark. I flipped off and back on again as if it would change anything, and the room remained dark. Then I heard them. Something darted across the room. I could hear it the scamper of their feet and a shadow in front the window passed. Then I heard the soft whimpers of children crying. I backed out of the room slamming the door shut. It has to be one of the kid’s playing a prank, I think.

I quickly made my way down the hall thru the kitchen into the kids room, and flipped their light on. The room illuminated with a yellow glow. The kids were all sleeping soundly in their beds.

I flipped the light switch off and made my way back to my bedroom where my frightened mother waited for me. I am very ashamed of what I am about to reveal now. When I got back to my bedroom, i told my mother that I heard nothing. It must have been the wind. I know, I know! I’m a asshole. The reason I did this is because when I got back to my room, she was so upset I nearly had to call 911. She had COPD and her breathing was very labored. I had to get out her medications and battle the flare back. It took a good hour to get it back under control. I was worried if I told her I heard it too she would get worse.

I locked the bedroom that night and sat up watching over my family. There were many nights like that to follow. I often felt it necessary to sit vigil over my family and guard them. The only problem is I couldn’t see what I was guarding them against. It was a battle I didn’t know how to fight yet.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.